Calabaza Squash

I grew the Calabaza squash (Cuban/Indian Pumpkin) from seed back in May.  Then planted them in June.  I didn’t really prepare a proper bed for growing, just sort of found a spot near the flowers and experimenting with it.

calabaza_squash2

Now it is middle of July and the plant is growing very fast.  The leaves are gigantic and the vines are long.  I may have to cut them back when a few squash/pumpkins are bigger. I also didn’t want the vines to smother the hibiscus and zinnias.

calabaza_squash3

So happy to see a little pumpkin. I counted 5 pumpkins so far.  This one is being kept from touching the ground.

More neat info:

Ripens in 90 days

High in dietary fiber and rich in Vitamin A & C

It is native to Central and South America and Caribbean islands.

Calabaza squash can be stored for a month or a little longer in cool dry place.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Calabaza Squash

  1. I have to give it a try next year, and letting it climb on trellis might be ideal for me since I don’t have a big backyard.

    • As much as I like these pumpkin squash, they became a monster to grow and clean after. The vines were getting too long, and there were nasty little bugs living on the leaves and it was a big sticky mess. Not fun!

      • I think they look pretty in early Spring when they are young, but take over in the Summer if you have a small space. I would love to grow them if I have a bigger land.

Leave a Reply

