Mexicola Grande Avocado in Winter

mexicola_grande_winter

This is just an update on my Mexicola Grande avocado tree in December.  It was planted last summer.  The tree has been doing good and producing more leaves.

To prevent slugs from eating the leaves, I have encircled the trunk with egg shells.  I haven’t seen much holes in my leaves since doing this, so looks like it’s working out.

mexicola_grande_blossom

I think these are blossoms, so if I am lucky I may have avocado flowers by spring.

Just a few days ago we had a frost warning of 31 degrees overnight.  But that wasn’t nearly as cold as last winter freeze at 21 degrees.  So I have to keep it protected.  In the meantime I did wrap the trunk with bubble wrap along with brown grocery bags.  Hope that works out for now.

Leave a Reply

