A Few Summer Fruits

Our little backyard orchard hasn’t been doing well at all this summer.  Each tree has only been producing a few fruits.  The Asian Pear tree had lots of new growth in the spring, but some of the branches turned black and just died out.

But we did manage to get at least 10 fruits growing on different varieties of Pear branch.  Even with the small amount of fruits that showed up, the birds are trying to get to them before it’s ready to pick.

I think I’m going to have to take some small brown bags or newspaper and wrap each fruit to prevent birds from attacking them.  It won’t be too hard since I only have a few fruits on the tree.  I know Asian pear farms in China hand pollinate their trees and hand wrap the fruits too.  No wonder it’s so expensive!

In the beginning of the year, I had decided to prune down the Mexicola avocado tree because it was just getting too big (wide and tall). Now I’m starting to think the heavy pruning caused it to fruit less. Even after the pruning, it did send off lots of blooms and even started to form tiny fruits. But most of the tiny fruits started to drop by end of spring. And now I am just down to 2 fruit on the tree. Well, maybe the tree is just taking a break and next year it will bear more fruits.  We’ll just have to wait and see.

2 thoughts on “A Few Summer Fruits

  1. What’s left on the trees look very healthy, at least you’ll have a few to enjoy.

    I don’t have much luck with my persimmons also, in the spring there were more than 10, and now I have 4 fruits left. If we have to make a living selling the fruits we will be in a lot of trouble. 🙂

    • I thought growing fruit trees would be easy, just water and forget about it. And yes, I probably can’t make a living growing stuff, let alone feed myself with them! 😀

Leave a Reply

